World Health Assembly

The World Health Assembly (WHA) is the decision making body of the World Health Organization. It is composed of the health ministers by all 194 member states of the United Nations (UN), except for Liechtenstein, the Cook Islands and Niue. The World Health Assembly was formatted along with the World Health Organization (WHO) in 1948 and is the highest health policy setting body worldwide.

It is the WHO’s duty to promote health and access to high level healthcare as well as responding to health emergencies such as the COVID-19 pandemic. Every year in May, the World Health Assembly comes together to discuss the main policies and public goals of the WHO. The headquarters is the Palace of Nations located in Geneva, Switzerland.

The agenda for the annual meeting is prepared by the Executive Board that consists of 34 members, who are elected for three-year terms.

Other main functions of the World Health Assembly are the approval of the WHO’s work programme and the emanating budget plans as well as the supervision of financial policies.

Topic at OLMUN 2024: Raising Awareness of Mental Health Problems and Developing Recommendations

Our Presidents of the World Health Assembly:
Card image cap
Jule Otto
Card image cap
Anes Mujkic
Card image cap
Tom Siebels

Relevant Documents

Supported By