OLMUN – international debates and social interaction since 2001


Having been founded by the former high-school student Gero Elerd, the first Oldenburg Model United Nations Conference took place at the “Altes Gymnasium Oldenburg” with about 100 pupils.  Admittedly most the participants of the first session in 2001 were originally German, but nevertheless, a delegation from St. Petersburg provided a certain international flair to the OLMUN, which has been enhanced over the years. Growing to 450 participants in 2006 and to 850 in 2013, the conference developed to become the largest of its kind in Germany. With more and more participants, the number of committees has also increased– from 3 in the beginning to currently 10 committees, offering a considerable diversity of topics.

One of OLMUN’s special features is the fact that from the first session on, the conference has been – and still is – completely organised exclusively by high-school students. The Inner Circle, consisting of approximately 50 students, plans and organises every aspect of this event. In 2005, the OLMUN association was founded with major involvement of Kersten Stamm to create a reliable base for the annual organisation of the conference.

Of course, some teachers are also involved, but only in their function as MUN-Directors, who serve as connecting links between the OLMUN and the schools. On the one hand, they provide help and preparation for their own students, and on the other hand they serve as reference persons for the Inner Circle. This form of cooperation does not only secure the status of the OLMUN as a MUN conference fully organised by their participants but also marks an unprecedented interaction between the schools.

Moreover, our membership in the JUNON (UN Youth association), a union of several German UN groups, since spring 2007 means a further step towards national cooperation and gives us a chance to exchange experiences and socialise with other MUNs.

As more and more students from abroad started to attend OLMUN, the need for accommodation became more urgent. While the first international participants were part of an external exchange programme, the position of ‘housing coordinator’ was soon introduced to administer the increasing number of accommodations of international participants. Our housing programme, which allows foreign participants to stay with host families in Oldenburg, is a brilliant opportunity for intercultural exchange.

In 2020, the conference was cancelled due to the COVID-19-pandemic. As an alternative programme, an OLMUN@home Challenge took place.  

As OLMUN approaches its 20th anniversary, we proudly look back on our development and our status as one of the largest and best-known high-school conferences in Europe. Every year, we as a team strive to deliver a unique and educational experience to our participants, all while introducing innovative ideas. We have created countless professional learning opportunities, and friendships for a lifetime find their roots at the OLMUN conference.

List of the Secretariats of Oldenburg Model United Nations Conferences


2001 Gero Elerd
Rebecca Beerheide
Sebastian Bick
Ole Seidenberg

Dep. President

Gero Elerd
Ole Seidenberg
Katja Ferenz

Meike Wübbenhorst
Ali Aslan Gümüsay
Sientje Möller
Susanne Beerheide

Dennis Ströh
Kersten Stamm
Ali Aslan Gümüsay
Swantje Wübbenhorst

Kersten Stamm
Swantje Wübbenhorst
Merle Frömel
Jantje Kuil

Sören Koselitz
Dirk Romey
Julian Heick
Henrike Haueisen

Timo Schulze
Madjar Navah
Manuel Becker
Dörthe Johannes

Arja Frömel
Felix Bayer
Amelie Hartmann
Hendrik Bäumler

Julian Heno
Giulia Jonetzko
Birthe Rindt
Arne Gellrich

Greetje Grove
Sören Zuppke
Fabian Wiesenäcker
Hannes Felix Grosch

Carla Henckel
Sebastian Klotz
Alex Schmidtke
Felix Virmani

Catharina Jantos
Finn-Ole Metscher
Phillip Kuck
Sebastian Katzer

Helge Wellmann

Catharina Jantos

Yannick Meißner

Felix Seliger


Julian Maskow

Kim Eickmeyer

Onno Winters

Gareth Edwards

Tim Kempermann

Ruben Eero

Kim Eickmeyer
Emma Beelen
Eva Carlotta von

Markus Jankowski

Kai Steffen

Josefine Went
Alke Hochwald
Yannick Bargfeldt
Esther Eriksen

Josefine Went
Clara Feldmann
Dominik Ulke
Alexandra Kovalcikova
Tammo Strack

Robin Runge
Alexander Linke
Nika Andouz
Anita Kluck
Sebastian Sanders

Hedda Spengemann
Amelie Schmidt
Dennis Kirsch
Rasmus Conrad
Anita Kluck

Anne zur Horst 
Hendrik Ebel
Keno Hillmer
Tristan Leoluca Farinella
Joanna Grave

Anne zur Horst
Hendrik Ebel
Tristan Leoluca Farinella
Caroline Renz
Joanna Grave

Jelto Heykants
Annelie Kostka
Per Pagnia
Kian Assent
Claas Kämpf

Amélie Vocke
Nina Hempel
Mika Jelko Niederheide
Anna Siebels
Marleen Schmidt

Philipp Bruhns
Emily Roshop
Lenja Hinrichs
Lada Blech
Mika Jelko Niederheide

TENO VeranstaltungstechnikCEWEEWE StiftungAll StorageEriksen StiftungStadt OldenburgLzO Stiftung