African Union

The African Union

The African Union, formerly known as the Organisation of African Unity (OAU), is a continental union that was established in 2002. Similar to the European Union, the AU is a collective economic and security consolidation consisting of 54 nations on the African continent. It was created with a variety of objectives: to achieve greater unity between African nations, to protect the sovereignty of member states, rid the continent of colonisation and apartheid; promote international cooperation within the United Nations framework and promote democratic principles.

The AU tackles complex issues in order to promote strong and unified Africa, thus it plays a critical role in defining the future of Africa.

CEWEEriksen StiftungStadt OldenburgGVWEMPA‑FlashlightSuSLand Niedersachsen